Seoul Trip 2019 – Part 3 (Subway vs. City Bus vs. Taxi)

I found that busing around the city was my favorite transportation while in Seoul. You got to see the city and know where to stop or at least where you would like to stop if out of your itinerary. The KTX (Bullet Train across cities) was also nice when you needed them. My least favorite surprisingly to some was the subway. Here is why. Not only are you huddled into a mass of folks coming and going, there are platforms not as direct as you would like to be. I am not saying the subways weren’t efficient. In fact, they are quicker than the 2 other options if you know where you are going. Im just not a fan of being underground, going through the gates continuously up and down those stairs.  My experience in Japan was a lot worse. South Korea was a little more manageable. Perhaps the names of stations and streets were a lot more familiar and easier to remember too.

T-money. Anyhow, here is how the ticket passes work. Their T-money pass card system is a great. Like modern Asian countries, you can purchase a T-money card as shown above at your local South Korean convenient store or down under in the subway stations. You can upload money into them at the store or subway machines. Then use that for transportation of any kind. The bus, subway and taxi. Even buy things at convenient stores. Anywhere with the T-logo sign. I bought breakfast and had ramen noodles a few times while there. Anywhere with the T-money logo sign at the store, you are allowed to use. I got these transportation cards specialized done at a Kakao machine nearby. They were a fun highlight of my trip.

KTX. The only thing that does not apply with is the KTX aka Bullet train which runs on a different program. You have to reserve a ticket which is doable on same day. Just know seating may be limited therefore you could be standing. But we didn’t have that issue. Most local travelers buy same day tickets. One way is normally 60USD. The KTX train runs through all major cities landing its last destination in Busan Station. There’s also a different line that takes you further south I have not used. It’s a good 2.5-hour ride which can fly. I recall having stop 4x in between only. And what better way then to get a good countryside view outside of Seoul. It is just like how I imagined it.

Taxi. I found that taxi are pretty fair at prices too. Ok, at least compared to where I come from. I assume the government also control these so you dont have to worry too much about getting scammed. I also love using the Naver app, their version of Google Map. It allows to tell me how much pricing should be if I was to use taxi option. There were days I was too lazy to take the subway. Figuring out what train to transfer took up so much time as well. The most I paid was $18 usd going way across the river into multiple districts. Taxis are also everywhere and you can’t miss not seeing one. As many tourists and Seoulites around, they will cater to whom they choose to during rush hour or to the unknown, it is something you cannot control. But for the most of my experience, it went well. I have seen taxi ignore foreigners and sometimes, it is for their own security. I dont make excuses for them, nor do I for taxi drivers on state side as well. But I figure if they dont want my money, I dont want their service either. Again, the T-money card works for the taxi too and I love it.

The crammed buses or pricier taxi ride sometimes make it worth it after a day out, however. This scene below I caught was rare. Normal days are often hazy out but this color evening sunset ended my day blissfully.

@Jamsil – Lotte World Park

 

Leave a comment